"Rapid Response: For-Hire Boating" Click here for a series of decals and posters that NYSG provides to
encourage public compliance with boating-specific COVID-19 safety precautions.

NYSG-Seaway Trail Corporation Elects New Directors
NYSG's Dave White Named Secretary

OSWEGO, NY, November 26, 2008 - The Seaway Trail Corporation has elected its 2008-2010 board of directors to guide the membership-based not-for-profit organization that develops and promotes tourism and related economic development opportunities throughout the 518-mile freshwater shoreline region of New York and Pennsylvania.
The Seaway Trail is federally designated as one of America’s Byways and a National Recreation Trail. The byway region includes St. Lawrence, Jefferson, Oswego, Cayuga, Wayne, Monroe, Orleans, Niagara, Erie and Chautauqua counties in NY and Erie County, PA.
The 2008-2010 Seaway Trail, Inc. board (* indicates returning incumbent) includes:

  • Chairman Chuck Krupke, a Pulaski, NY, businessman*

  • Vice Chairman John Hall, partner in Cannon Design, Grand Island, NY*

  • Secretary David G. White, Recreation & Tourism Specialist, New York Sea Grant, Oswego, NY*

  • Treasurer Donald G. Bennett Jr., CPA, and Executive Administrator, Campground Owners of NY, Pittsford, NY*

  • Kory Ahlstrom, Director of Planning & Development, City of Dunkirk; Dunkirk, NY

  • Emily Beck, Director of Tourism Development, VisitErie, Erie, PA*

  • Jill Chamberlain, Community Relations Associate, New York Power Authority, Massena, NY*

  • Florine Luhr, Executive Director, Advancing Arts and Culture, Buffalo, NY

  • Patricia L. McKeown, Executive Director, St. Lawrence County Chamber of Commerce, Canton, NY

  • Carlos Mercado, KSM Services consulting firm, Rochester, NY

  • John Percy, Niagara Tourism & Convention Corporation President & CEO, Niagara Falls, NY*

  • *Teresa Mitchell, President & CEO, Seaway Trail, Inc., Sackets Harbor, NY

  • August Schiava, Senior Sales Manager, Scott Enterprises: Hospitality & Entertainment Company, Erie, PA.

David G. White coordinates the Great Lakes Activities of New York Sea Grant and is serving as the Seaway Trail Revitalizing the Brand project coordinator. He also helped coordinate the 2007 Seaway Trail Shipwrecks Exhibit and Speakers Series that brought national attention to the byway and its hundreds of historic shipwrecks via an Associated Press article and earned Seaway Trail, Inc. an Upstate History Alliance Certificate of Commendation. Mr. White, a recreation/tourism specialist with New York Sea Grant, holds a Seaway Trail, Inc. officer’s position as Secretary.

The outgoing directors recognized for their volunteer service with the Seaway Trail, Inc. Board are Bob Brown II, co-owner/operator of Brown’s Berry Patch, Waterport, NY; Carol Davison, Vice President, Archer Communications, Rochester, NY; Gary DeYoung, Executive Director, 1000 Islands International Tourism Council, Alexandria Bay, NY; Greg Marshall, Vice President and Director of Marketing, Greater Rochester Visitor Association, Rochester, NY; and Don Ryan, owner/operator, Chadwick Bay Marina, Dunkirk, NY.
Learn more about the Seaway Trail at www.seawaytrail.com.

Home *  What is NYSG? *  Research *  Extension *  Education *  News & Events *  Publications
  Grants & Policies * Staff * NYSG Sites *  Related Sites 

nyseagrant@stonybrook.edu * (631) 632-6905

Problems viewing our Site? Questions About our Site's Social Media / Other Features? - See Our Web Guidelines

For NYSG Staff ... SharePoint * Site Administration